Interview with Dancer and Receptionist, Jacqui

October 18, 2015 by
Filed Under: Blog, Dance Studio Life

Interview with Dancer and Receptionist, Jacqui

Tell us about yourself.

Well for starters, I was born and raised in Orange County. However, my dad’s side of the family is from Texas.  So I do have a little country roots in me. I’ve obtained two associates degrees in Social and Behavioral Science and American History. I’m a busy bee, and work two other jobs as a wedding planer assistant, and at a daycare center. When I’m not working, you can find me either line dancing, partaking in archery or any other fun and exciting new experiences.  Life’s a journey to enjoy!

What made you start dancing?

It all started when I was young. I was about eight years old when I took my first hip hop and ballet class and from there it flourished somewhat into high school and college.

What style of dance do you do?

I’ve taken classes in Hip Hop, Jazz, Modern, Ballet, some Ballroom, Line dancing, and 2-step.

What is the hardest part about dancing?

Honestly, the fact that there is always going to be room for improvement. There is no such thing as perfection in dancing. There are so many layers upon layers, especially regarding technique, but that’s part of the joy of it.

What is your favorite type of dance?

I would say my favorite dance styles are hip hop/street, contemporary, jazz, and Broadway.

How would you describe your dance style?

I don’t really know how to answer this question. I know that I love performing so whatever dance I’m doing I like to put a character to it so I can tell a story. Also I like expressing whatever mood I’m in through dance.

What benefits has dancing given you?

It’s given me lots of benefits such as a creative outlet, a form of expression, and keeping me fit.

What is your most memorable moment? (While teaching or just in general, you can choose)

My most memorable moment doesn’t have to do with dance. I would say it was when I went bunji jumping in the San Gabriel Mountains.

What have you accomplished?

Going to school and receiving two associates degrees is a pretty big deal in my family. But I do strive to accomplish more.

What is it that drives you?

My motivation comes from within and me wanting to better myself as well as my future.

What is important to you?

God, my family, friendships, people.

What other interest do you have other than dancing? (Hobbies, interests)

Photography, archery, guns, painting, reading, traveling, new experiences.

If money didn’t matter, what would you be doing?

I would be traveling around the world, taking photos, dancing on stage, partaking in mission trips, and constantly trying to give to people.

What is your favorite:

Color? Lavender and Peach

Movie? Tears of the Sun, Armageddon

Song? (too hard of a question)

Band/Group/Music Artist? MJ, JT, B-52s, Kenny Chesney, Christina Aguilera, Donna Summers, Selena, Frank Sinatra (the list is endless)

Do you watch any sports? If so which ones and whose your favorite team(s)?

Sometimes I’ll watch football or baseball. I root for Angels and 49ers or whoever is the underdog that game.

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

Hawaiian- pineapple, Canadian bacon.

What is your favorite thing about yourself?

I like that fact that I’m a pretty goal orientated and motivated individual.

Why are you sooo Coool??

Am I?

Anything you want to add?

I am beyond grateful for where I am and what I got in life. It’s humbling to see and hear other people’s stories in this journey of life. Stay true to yourself, and don’t forget to live in the moment.